UWA Medical Physics

Staff, Lecturers & Supervisors

Adjunct Professor,

Director of Physics Research, Radiation Oncology, Medical Specialties
FAIP, FIOP, FACPSEM, MAAPM

email:Martin.Ebert@health.wa.gov.au

Areas of Interest/expertise: Physics in medicine, Mathematical modelling of cancer, Quantitative medicine, Oncology outcomes models, Clinical trials

Medical Physics Program Chair,

BSc, MSc, PhD

email: Pejman.Rowshanfarzad@uwa.edu.au

Areas of Interest/expertise: Radiotherapy Physics, Dosimetry, Portal Imaging & Treatment Verification, Nuclear Medicine 

Research Physicist/Lecturer,

BSc (Hons), PhD

email: Catherine.Kealley@uwa.edu.au

Areas of Interest/expertise: Radiation Physics, Radiobiology, Medical Physics Instrumentation, Radiation Safety, Materials Physics.

Dr. Suki Gill

Consultant Radiation Oncologist,

MBBS, MRCP, FRCR, FRANZCR

Department of Radiation Oncology, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

email: Suki.Gill@health.wa.gov.au

Supervisor

Areas of Interest/expertise: SBRT, IGRT, Margins for RT 

Godfrey Mukwada

Principal Medical Physicists, 

BSc, MSc, MBA

Department of Radiation Oncology, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

email: Godfrey.Mukwada@health.wa.gov.au

Invited Tutor & Supervisor

Areas of Interest/expertise: Treatment Planning, Stereotactic Radiotherapy, Dosimetry, Brachytherapy (HDR), Portal Imaging and Treatment Verification, Radiation Safety, Intraoperative Radiation Therapy 

  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon

Zaid Al Khatib

Supervising Medical Physicist,

BSc, MSc

Department of Radiation Oncology, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

email: Zaid.Alkhatib@health.wa.gov.au

Supervisor

Areas of Interest/expertise: IMRT, VMAT, IGRT, IORT, Brachytherapy, Treatment Planning and Quality Assurance, Radiation Protection & Safety 

Paul Brayshaw

Senior Medical Physicist

BSc (Hons)

Deptartment of Nuclear Medicine and WA PET Service, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

email: Paul.Brayshaw@health.wa.gov.au

Invited Tutor & Supervisor

Areas of Interest/expertise: Nuclear Medicine, Positron emission tomography (PET), Radionuclide therapy, Theranostics

Tegan Rourke

Senior Medical Physicist

BSc (Hons)

Medical Technology and Physics, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

email: Tegan.Rourke@health.wa.gov.au

Invited Tutor

Areas of Interest/expertise: Diagnostic imaging physics, Laser safety, Radioisotope therapies, Radiation safety, Compliance testing of X-ray equipment, MRI QA

Craig Norvill

Senior Medical Physicist

BSc, MSc

Genesis Cancer Care

email: Craig.Norvill@genesiscare.com

Invited Tutor & Supervisor

Areas of Interest/expertise: Radiotherapy Physics, Quality Assurance, Treatment Planning, IGRT

Dr. John Burrage

Acting Principal Physicist,  

BSc, BEd (Hons), PgD, PhD

Medical Engineering and Physics, Royal Perth Bentley Group

email: John.Burrage@health.wa.gov.au

Invited Tutor 

Areas of Interest/expertise: Diagnostic Imaging, Radiation Protection

Dr. Mounir Ibrahim

Senior Medical Physicist/TEAP Coordinator 

BSc, MSc, PhD, QMPS (ACPSEM)

Department of Radiation Oncology, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

email: Mounir.Ibrahim@health.wa.gov.au

Supervisor 

Areas of Interest/expertise: Ionizing Radiation , Magnetic Nanoparticles, Radiation Dosimetry, Stereotactic Radiotherapy, TEAP 

Hans Lynggaard Riis

Senior Medical Physics Researcher,

BSc, MSc, PhD, DIPLM, MPE

Radiophysik Laboratorium, Odense University Hospital, Denmark

email: Hans.Lynggaard.Riis@rsyd.dk

Supervisor 

Areas of Interest/expertise: Quality Assurance, Dosimetry, Small Field Dosimetry, Radiation Detection, Detection of Geometrical Performance, Dose Planning, Radiation Physics, CT, MRI, MR Linear Accelerator, Linear Accelerator

Garry Grogan

Lecturer, 

BEng, MEng, PhD

Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering, UWA

email: ghulam.hassan@uwa.edu.au

 Supervisor 

Areas of Interest/expertise: Artificial Intelligence, Inter-disciplinary Problems, Machine Learning, Image Processing, Engineering Education

Clinical Medical Physicist,

BSc, MSc

Department of Radiation Oncology, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital

email: Garry.Grogan@health.wa.gov.au

Invited Tutor and Supervisor

Areas of Interest/expertise: Treatment Planning, CyberKnife, Dosimetry, Treatment Verification, Linear Accelerator 

Adjunct Professor,

Head of Medical Technology & Physics, and the Radiopharmaceuticals Production & Development Facility at Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital.

BSc, PhD

email: Roger.Price@health.wa.gov.au

Area of Interest: Nuclear Medicine, Radioisotopes, Cyclotron, Monte Carlo Modeling 

Michael Barnes

Clinical Medical Physicist,  

BSc(Pro)(hons), MPhil

Department of Radiation Oncology, Calvary Mater Newcastle Hospital, Newcastle, NSW & The University of Newcastle, Newcastle, NSW

email: Michael.Barnes@calvarymater.org.au

Supervisor 

Areas of Interest/expertise: Linac QA, IMRT/VMAT QA, dosimetry, IGRT, CT simulation

Department of Physics, The University of Western Australia, 35 Stirling Highway, Mailbag M013, CRAWLEY, WA 6009 

 Phone: (+61 8) 6488 2738  |  Email: admin-physics@uwa.edu.au

© 2023 by UWA Medical Physics Research Group. 

New-UWA_MedPhys_LOGO_2015.jpg
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • instagram-1581266_960_720
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • World Press
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • world press-2